Good-Bye

Hi Everyone,

Wow, it has been a long time since I’ve updated you. Unfortunately my update will not be a pleasant topic. I am sorry to say that we had to put our puppy dog down early this morning.

IMG_8238For those of you who don’t know, a few weeks ago we found out that our dog had a tumor in her rectum. We weren’t going to surgically remove it so we knew it was the beginning of the end for our puppy. The vet did a biopsy, checked the size, and gave her some tumor shrinking medicine. Unfortunately it was such an aggressive tumor that it doubled in size in just a week’s time. Mom and Dad figured that she’d have some bathroom issues as the tumor grew larger and that would probably bring her to her end before the actual tumor affected her in other ways.

Sure enough, last night she had trouble going potty. It was pretty apparent that there was something not good going on and she couldn’t get comfortable. You know when a dog won’t lay down to sleep that there is something up. Mom and Dad decided that it was better to not have her suffer so they woke me up at about 1:45 in the morning to say my good-bye to her. It was hard but we would rather not have her in pain than to have just a few more hours with her.

I am doing okay. I haven’t shed any tears but like to talk about it. But then again, I am six so it’s hard to express my exact emotions. I already feel like I am being accustomed to not having her around (yes, those were my exact words this evening). Mom is having a harder time since she was her dog the longest but she’ll be okay after a bit of time goes by. Dad is the one that took her over to the vet in the wee hours of the morning so he has the unpleasant memory of being the one to take her in.

Until next time . . . (when I will hopefully have a more pleasant update)

 

One thought on “Good-Bye

Leave a Reply

