New York, New York

Hi everyone,

So . . . just about 48 hours after we got back from being gone almost all summer Mom and Dad headed for the airport for a spontaneous trip to New York. Yeah, I know. When are Mom and Dad ever spontaneous? And across the country to New York of all places.

They flew out and I stayed with Grandma. Don’t get me wrong, I love staying with Grandma, I just really wanted to go with them. Mom and Dad thought that was kind of funny because we had been together 24/7 for almost 2 months and they figured I’d be happy to have some time away from them. They did at least take Magnetic so you’ll see him in a few of the pictures.001004Elevated trains! Did you know you can drive under trains in New York? I love trains. (I wish I could have been there.)011Do you see the Brooklyn Bridge in the picture below? Do you see the construction signs? Yep, the bridge was closed for construction on the day that Mom and Dad were there. Driving plans to go over the bridge were thwarted.013And this is the Manhattan Bridge peeking out from the buildings while they were on their way to the pizza place.014Who said coal was bad for you? They went to Grimaldi’s Coal Brick Oven Pizza under the Brooklyn Bridge and the line outside was incredibly long. Like Walker’s Famous Pancake House, incredibly long. I’m glad I wasn’t there for that. I would wait in a line that long for pancakes but I don’t know if I would wait for pizza.016I’m not the biggest pizza fan out there and I probably wouldn’t have eaten much of this one. It is almost a piece of artwork though. They put it in a paper bag instead of a box so Mom thought that was a little goofy since she had to set it on her legs. They also put on sliced mozzarella cheese instead of shredded so it gives it a different look and texture. I guess Mom and Dad liked it though because there weren’t any leftovers. Well, I guess they did say they each saved a piece for later because it was pretty filling.019 Driving out to Long Island was fun! Long Island! I totally wish this computer had the ability to say the word the way they do in New York. It was a beautiful afternoon. Perfect for test driving a car, especially a convertible!023They have geese in New York! Imagine that. It reminded Mom of Make Way for Ducklings (even though they were geese). All the traffic stopped as they made their way from the pond across the street. Very cute!025 Well, that’s all for now. In my next post I’ll show you the car that Mom and Dad bought in New York. I so wished I would have been there to go for the test drive, but Mom and Dad tell me that I would not have liked the cross country trip back home.

Until next time . . .

Leave a Reply

